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State of California

Cremated Remains Disposers

The Department of Consumer Affairs, Cemetery and Funeral Bureau (CFB or Bureau) has
prepared the following booklet to provide registered cremated remains disposers (CRDs) with
information about the lawful scattering of cremated or hydrolyzed human remains in the state of
California. The information in this booklet includes: details about registration and renewal
requirements for cremated remains disposers; requirements for obtaining state permits to dispose
of cremated or hydrolyzed human remains; state storage requirements; statutory duties of
cremated remains disposers; and other applicable state laws. This booklet reflects California law
regarding CRDs as of January 1, 2023, contained in the Business and Professions Code (BPC)
and the Health and Safety Code (HSC), and regulations contained in Title 16 of the California
Code of Regulations (16 CCR). The laws and regulations referenced are also available on the
CFB website: www.cfb.ca.gov.

Registration

A cremated remains disposer disposes of, or offers to dispose of, cremated or hydrolyzed
human remains by scattering (BPC 88 7611.9, 7672). To request an Application for Registration
as a Cremated Remains Disposer or for additional information, contact the Licensing Unit at
(916) 574-7870. Applications are also available on the CFB website at the following link:
www.cfb.ca.gov/licensee/app. CFBs complete contact information is on the last page of this
booklet.

To apply for registration as a cremated remains disposer, an individual must submit a completed
application and a registration fee of $190 (BPC § 7730.1).

The application for registration requires:

e A written description and identification of aircraft or boat, if applicable, and the
registration and documentation number (BPC § 7672.1).

o Aircraft must have a valid certification by the Federal Aviation Administration (BPC §
7672.3).

o Boats must be registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles or be documented
by a federal agency, as appropriate (BPC § 7672.3).

o The current aircraft pilot’s license and/or boating license must be posted at the
CRD’s place of business (BPC § 7672.1(b)).

e The applicant must indicate area(s) to be served (BPC § 7672.1).

e The applicant must provide the address and phone number of any storage facility being
used to store cremated or hydrolyzed human remains (BPC § 7672.6(a)(2)).

The registration must be renewed annually by September 30 (BPC § 7672.8).

Any person who scatters cremated human remains or integrates hydrolyzed human remains
without a valid registration, and is not exempt from registration, is guilty of a misdemeanor (BPC
88 7672.10, 7639.16). The following are exempt from registration as a CRD: licensed
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cemeteries (certificates of authority), crematories, hydrolysis facilities, funeral directors,
cemetery brokers, cemetery salespersons, and any person with the right to control disposition of
the cremated or hydrolyzed human remains, or that person’s designee, provided the person with
the right to control disposition or the designee does not dispose of more than 10 cremated or
hydrolyzed human remains per calendar year (BPC § 7672).

Registration Renewal
Each CRD registration expires annually on September 30, unless renewed. To renew the
registration, a CRD must:

e Complete the renewal form (BPC 8§ 7672.8)

¢ Pay the $100 renewal fee (BPC § 7730.2) or $150, if delinquent (BPC 88§ 7672.9,
7729.2)

o File the Annual Report with the Bureau (BPC 88 7672.7, 7672.8)

Registration will not be renewed until a completed Annual Report is submitted to the CFB. You
can renew your registration online at www.cfb.ca.gov and email CFB the Annual Report at
emailcfb@dca.ca.gov. The Annual Report is available on the Bureau’s website at the following
link: www.cfb.ca.gov/licensee/crd_annual_report.pdf.

Each CRD must file an Annual Report by September 30 covering the fiscal year of July 1
through June 30. This means the report due by September 30 must include all cremated or
hydrolyzed human remains scattered from July 1, of the previous year, through June 30, of the
year the registration is renewed (BPC 88 7672.7, 7672.8). The Annual Report must include:

¢ Names of the deceased persons whose cremated or hydrolyzed human remains were
disposed of

¢ Dates that the CRD received the cremated or hydrolyzed human remains

¢ Names and addresses of the persons who authorized disposal of the remains
e Dates and locations of disposal of the remains

¢ Means and manner of disposition (BPC § 7672.7(a))

Throughout the year, each CRD must maintain a current Annual Report (BPC § 7672.7(a)). The
report is subject to inspection by the Bureau (BPC § 7672.6(a)(2)).

Making a willful and material false statement regarding the disposal of cremated or hydrolyzed
human remains in the Annual Report is a misdemeanor and can subject the CRD to disciplinary
action (BPC § 7672.7(b) and (c)).

Permits for Disposition

Cremated or hydrolyzed human remains may not be scattered unless a Death Certificate and
Permit for Disposition of Human Remains has been obtained from a local registrar of births and
deaths (HSC § 103050). When cremated or hydrolyzed human remains are to be scattered, the
disposition permit must specify any one of the following: name of the cemetery where the
cremated or hydrolyzed human remains will be scattered; burial at sea as provided in HSC
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§7117; address or description of the place where the cremated or hydrolyzed human remains
shall be scattered (HSC § 103055).

Within 10 calendar days of scattering, the person to whom the permit for disposition was issued
shall sign the permit, endorse upon it the date of final disposition and return it to the local
registrar of births and deaths in the district in which the disposition took place, and the third copy
must be returned to the local registrar where the permit was issued (HSC 88 103060; 7117(b)).
The second copy is retained by the crematory.

If scattering at sea from a boat or from the air, the CRD must also file a copy of the permit for
disposition within 10 calendar days with the local registrar of births and deaths in the county
nearest the point where the remains were scattered, a verified statement containing the name of
the deceased person, the time and place of death, the place at which the cremated or
hydrolyzed human remains were scattered, and any other information that the local registrar of
births and deaths may require (HSC § 7117(b)).

Within 30 days of scattering, the disposer must provide a photocopy of the fully completed
disposition permit to the person with the right to control the disposition of the remains (BPC §
7672.5).

Cremated or hydrolyzed human remains may not be removed from the place of cremation, or
hydrolysis without a permit issued by the local registrar of births and deaths (HSC § 7055).

For more information regarding permits for disposition of human remains contact the California
Department of Public Health website: www.cdph.ca.gov or consult county telephone listings for
the local registrar of births and deaths.

Scattering

"Scattering" is the authorized dispersal of cremated remains at sea, in other areas of the state,
or commingling in a defined area within a dedicated cemetery as provided in the Health and
Safety Code (HSC 8§ 7010.7, 7116, 7117, 7117.1).

"Scattering" is the authorized dispersal of hydrolysis human remains at sea, in other areas of
the state, or commingling in a defined area within a dedicated cemetery as provided in the
Health and Safety Code (HSC 88 7010.7, 7116, 7117).

In order to scatter cremated or hydrolyzed human remains, a CRD must have specific written
instructions from the individual(s) with the right to control disposition and must scatter in
accordance with those instructions (BPC § 7672.4).

All aircraft used for the scattering shall have a valid certification from the Federal Aviation
Administration. All boats or vessels used for the scattering of cremated or hydrolyzed human
remains shall be registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles or documented by a federal
agency (BPC § 7672.3).

The CRD must;

o Dispose of cremated or hydrolyzed human remains within 60 days of the time the
remains are received, unless the CRD presents a written, signed reason for the delay to
the person(s) with the right to control disposition of the remains (BPC § 7672.6(a)(1)).
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e Scatter the cremated remains from individual containers, unless scattering at sea
utilizing a scattering urn (HSC 8 7117.1). (The use of a scattering urn does not apply to
hydrolyzed human remains pursuant to HSC 7117.1).

e Except with the express written permission of the person with the right to control the
disposition of the remains, the law prohibits commingling cremated prior to scattering
(HSC § 7054.7(a)(2)).

File the disposition permit with the local registrar of births and deaths within 10 calendar days of
scattering (HSC 8103060). Within 30 days of scattering, the disposer must provide a photocopy
of the fully completed disposition permit to the person with the right to control the disposition of
the remains (BPC § 7672.5).

Scattering at Sea:

o Cremated or hydrolyzed human remains must be removed from their container before
the remains are scattered at sea (HSC § 7117(a)), unless a scattering urn (closed
container containing cremated remains that will dissolve and release its contents within 4
hours of being placed at sea) is used, in which case the cremated remains may be
transferred from their durable container into the scattering urn no more than 7 days prior
to scattering the cremated remains at sea from a boat (HSC 8§ 7117.1). (The use of a
scattering urn does not apply to hydrolyzed human remains pursuant to HSC 7117.1).

e Scattering at sea cannot take place within 500 yards of the shoreline and includes the
inland navigable waters of the state. Scattering at sea does not include lakes and
streams, nor does it include scattering from a bridge or pier (HSC § 7117(c)).

Scattering in other areas of the State:

e Cremated or hydrolyzed human remains may be scattered in areas where no local
prohibition exists, provided that written permission to scatter is obtained from the
property owner or governing agency. State or local agencies may restrict or prohibit such
scattering (HSC § 7116).

¢ When cremated or hydrolyzed human remains are lawfully scattered in areas other than
at sea, they must be removed from their container and not be distinguishable to the
public (HSC § 7116).

e Cremated or hydrolyzed human remains may not be disposed of in refuse, or in any
manner other than that provided by law (HSC § 7054).

Storage Requirements
The address of the cremated or hydrolyzed human remains storage area must be posted at the
CRD’s place of business (BPC § 7672.1(b)).

Cremated or hydrolyzed human remains shall be stored in a place free from exposure to the
elements and shall be responsibly maintained until disposal (BPC § 7672.6(a)(2)).
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Cremated or hydrolyzed human remains must not be stored in a manner that results in the loss of
all or part of the cremated remains, or hydrolyzed human remains, or the inability to individually
identify the cremated or hydrolyzed human remains (BPC 8§ 7673.1).

Cremated or hydrolyzed human remains must be received in a durable container, and prior to
disposition the CRD must:

o Keep the cremated or hydrolyzed human remains in a durable container, unless utilizing
a scattering urn, in which case the cremated remains, cannot be transferred from the
durable container more than seven (7) days before scattering at sea from a boat (HSC
88 7054.6(c)(1) & (c)(2), and 7117.1). The use of a scattering urn does not apply to
hydrolyzed human remains.

e Store the cremated or hydrolyzed human remains in a place free from exposure to the
elements (HSC 7054.6(c)(3).

¢ Responsibly maintain the cremated or hydrolyzed human remains (HSC § 7054.6(c)(4)).

Cremated and Hydrolyzed human remains must be scattered from individual containers. The
law prohibits commingling cremated remains, prior to scattering, except with the express written
permission of the person with the right to control the disposition of the remains (HSC 88
7054.7(a)(2), 7054.8(a)(2)). This also applies to the use of scattering urns (HSC § 7117.1).

The CRD must inform CFB of the address and phone number of any storage facility used to
store cremated or hydrolyzed human remains. CFB may inspect any place used for storage of
cremated or hydrolyzed human remains without notice to the CRD (BPC & 7672.6(a)(2)).

If the name or address of the CRD changes, the CRD must a written name or address change
request to the Cemetery and Funeral Bureau at 1625 North Market Boulevard, Suite S-208,
Sacramento, CA 95834, and pay a $25 change of name or address fee (BPC § 7730.3; 16 CCR
§ 2321).
¢ For a name change, include the following with the required fee: licensee previous name,
licensee new name, license number, legible copy of government issued identification
(marriage certificate, divorce decree, driver’s license) reflecting new name.
For an address change, include the following with the required fee: licensee name,
license number, old and new addresses, and contact phone number.

To request a change of location for a storage facility used by the CRD to store cremated or
hydrolyzed human remains changes, submit a written request via email at emailcfb@dca.ca.gov
or mail to the CFB and include the following: licensee name, license number, the old and new
addresses, and contact phone number.

Inspection by the Bureau

e The CFB conducts random, unannounced inspections of the operations of cremated
remains disposers and is authorized to inspect any place used by a cremated remains
disposer for the storage of cremated or hydrolyzed human remains without notice to the
CRD (BPC § 7672.6(a)(2)).

e The CRD shall post: 1) a copy of his or her current pilot’s license if disposing by air; or 2)
a copy of his or her current boating license if disposing by boat; and the address of the
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cremated or hydrolyzed human remains storage area at his or her place of business
(BPC 87672.1(b)).

e The valid certification and registration for aircraft/vessel/vehicles used during scattering
must be available during inspection (BPC § 7672.3).

e The CRD registration certificate must be posted in public view (BPC § 7680).

e Upon inspection by the Bureau, an Inspection Report will be completed, and the CRD
will be given a copy of the report. All violations of law identified in the report must be
corrected and may subject the CRD to disciplinary action by the Bureau (BPC §7673.2).
The Bureau is authorized to issue citations containing orders of abatement and
assessing administrative fines for violation of the statutes and regulations enforced by
the Bureau (16 CCR 2382).

For more information, contact the Cemetery and Funeral Bureau at emailcfb@dca.ca.qgov,

(916) 574-7870, or 1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S-208, Sacramento, CA 95834. Visit the CFB
website www.cfb.ca.gov for more information. The laws referenced in this booklet can be
accessed from our website at https://www.cfb.ca.gov/laws_regs/existing_laws.shtml and are
also available on https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/home.xhtml; the California Code of
Regulations can be accessed from our website and is also available at
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Index.
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This edition reflects California Law as of January 1, 2023
Business and Professions Code — Cemetery and Funeral Act

CHAPTER 12. CEMETERIES
Article 4.5. Cremated Remains DiSPOSEr.........ouveiiiviiiiiiiiiiiiaeieienes 7672-7673.2

§ 7672 (a) A person shall not dispose of or offer to dispose of any cremated human remains or
hydrolyzed human remains unless registered as a cremated remains disposer by the bureau. This article
shall not apply to any person, partnership, or corporation holding a certificate of authority as a cemetery,
crematory license, hydrolysis facility license, cemetery broker’s license, cemetery salesperson’s license,
or funeral director’s license, nor shall this article apply to any person having the right to control the
disposition of the cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains of any person or that person’s
designee if the person does not dispose of or offer to dispose of more than 10 cremated human remains
or hydrolyzed human remains within any calendar year.

(b) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.

8§ 7672.1 (a) Registration shall be on the form prescribed by the bureau and shall include, but not be
limited to, the full name of the registrant, business and residence addresses, description and identification
of aircraft or boats which may be used in dispensing cremated human remains or hydrolyzed human
remains, and the area to be served. Each registration application shall be accompanied by the cremated
remains disposer fee.

(b) Every registered cremated remains disposer who dispenses human remains by air shall post a copy
of his or her current pilot’s license, and the address of the cremated remains or hydrolyzed human
remains storage area at his or her place of business. Every registered cremated remains disposer who
dispenses human remains by boat shall post a copy of his or her current boating license and the address
of the cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains storage area at his or her place of business.

(c) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.

§ 7672.2 (a) The bureau shall prepare and deliver to each registered cremated remains disposer a
booklet that includes, but is not limited to, the following information: details about the registration and
renewal requirements for cremated remains disposers; requirements for obtaining state permits to
dispose of cremated human remains or hydrolyzed human remains; state storage requirements, if any;
statutory duties pursuant to this article, and other applicable state laws.

(b) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.

§ 7672.3 (a) All aircraft used for the scattering of cremated human remains or hydrolyzed human remains
shall be validly certified by the Federal Aviation Administration. All boats or vessels used for the scattering
of cremated human remains or hydrolyzed human remains shall be registered with the Department of
Motor Vehicles or documented by a federal agency, as appropriate. The certification or registration shall
be available for inspection by the bureau.

(b) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.

§ 7672.4 (a) A cremated remains disposer who scatters any cremated human remains or hydrolyzed
human remains without specific written instructions from the person having the right to control the
disposition of the remains or who scatters any remains in a manner not in accordance with those
instructions shall be subject to disciplinary action.

(b) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.

8§ 7672.5 Each cremated remains disposer shall provide the person with the right to control the disposition
of the remains under Section 7100 of the Health and Safety Code with a copy of the completed permit for
disposition of human remains pursuant to Chapter 8 (commencing with Section 103050) of Part 1 of
Division 102 of the Health and Safety Code within 30 days of the date of the scattering.
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§ 7672.6 (a) Every cremated remains disposer shall do both of the following:

(1) Dispose of cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains within 60 days of the receipt of those
remains, unless a written signed reason for a delay is presented to the person with the right to control the
disposition of the remains under Section 7100 of the Health and Safety Code.

(2) Provide the bureau with the address and telephone number of any storage facility being used by the
registrant to store cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains. Cremated remains or hydrolyzed
human remains shall be stored in a place free from exposure to the elements, and shall be responsibly
maintained until disposal. The bureau and its representatives shall conduct, on an annual basis, random
inspections of the operations of 5 to 10 percent of the registered cremated remains disposers, and is
authorized to inspect any place used by a cremated remains disposer for the storage of cremated
remains or hydrolyzed human remains without notice to the cremated remains disposer.

(b) A violation of the requirements of this section is grounds for disciplinary action.

(c) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.

§ 7672.7 (a) Each cremated remains disposer shall file, and thereafter maintain an updated copy of, an
annual report on a form prescribed by the bureau. The report shall include, but not be limited to, the
names of the deceased persons whose cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains were disposed
of, the dates of receipt of the cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains, the names and addresses
of the persons who authorized disposal of those remains, the dates and locations of disposal of those
remains, and the means and manner of disposition. The report shall cover the fiscal year ending on June
30 and shall be filed with the bureau no later than September 30 of each year.

(b) Any cremated remains disposer that makes a willful and material false statement regarding the
disposal of cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains in the annual report filed or updated pursuant
to subdivision (a) shall be subject to disciplinary action.

(c) Any cremated remains disposer that makes a willful and material false statement in the annual report
filed or updated pursuant to subdivision (a) shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

(d) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.

§ 7672.8. All cremated remains disposer registrations shall expire at 12 midnight on September 30th of
each year. A person desiring to renew his or her registration shall file an application for renewal on a form
prescribed by the bureau accompanied by the required fee. A registration that has expired may be
renewed within five years of its expiration upon payment of all accrued and unpaid renewal fees. The
bureau shall not renew the registration of any person who has not filed the required annual report until he
or she has filed a complete annual report with the department.

§ 7672.9. If a person fails to apply for renewal of his or her cremated remains disposer registration prior to
midnight of September 30th of the year for which the registration was issued, no renewal shall be issued
except upon payment of the delinquent renewal fee required under Section 7729.2.

§ 7672.10. Any person who scatters cremated human remains without a valid registration and who is not
otherwise exempt from this article shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. The remains of each person
scattered shall constitute a separate violation.

§ 7673. Any person who scatters any cremated human remains without specific written instructions from
the person having the right to control the disposition of the remains or who scatters any remains in a
manner not in accordance with those instructions shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

§ 7673.1 (a) Any cremated remains disposer who stores cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains
in a reckless manner that results in either of the following is guilty of a public offense punishable by
imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year or by a fine not to exceed five thousand dollars
($5,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment:

(1) Loss of all or part of the cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains.

(2) Inability to individually identify the cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains.

(b) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.
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§ 7673.2. A cremated remains disposer shall be subject to and shall be disciplined by the bureau in
accordance with Article 6 (commencing with Section 7686). Any violation of this article shall also be
grounds for disciplinary action.

Avrticle 8. REVENUE. ... e e 7725-7731.4

§ 7729.2. The delinquent renewal fee for a license, registration, or certificate of authority under this
chapter shall be 150 percent of the timely fee, but not less than the renewal fee plus twenty-five dollars
($25).

§ 7730.1. The cremated remains disposer registration fee shall be one hundred dollars ($190).

§ 7730.2. The renewal fee for a cremated remains disposer registration shall be fifty dollars ($100).

Health and Safety Code, Division 7. Dead Bodies, Part 1. General
[ o3V o o 1SN 7000-7355

CHAPTER 1. DEfINITIONS. . .ceii ittt ettt ettt bbbt e e e e e e e snae e e e 7000-7025

§ 7010.7 (a) “Scattering” means the authorized dispersal of cremated remains or hydrolyzed human
remains at sea, in other areas of the state, or commingling in a defined area within a dedicated cemetery,
in accordance with this part.

(b) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.

CHAPTER 2.  GeNeral ProviSiONS. .......iiiii i e e e e e 7050.5-7055

§ 7054. (a) (1) Except as authorized pursuant to the sections referred to in subdivision (b), every person
who deposits or disposes of any human remains in any place, except in a cemetery, is guilty of a
misdemeanor.

(2) Every licensee or registrant pursuant to Chapter 12 (commencing with Section 7600) of Division 3 of
the Business and Professions Code and the agents and employees of the licensee or registrant, or any
unlicensed person acting in a capacity in which a license from the Cemetery and Funeral Bureau is
required, who, except as authorized pursuant to the sections referred to in subdivision (b), deposits or
disposes of any human remains in any place, except in a cemetery, is guilty of a misdemeanor that shall
be punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, by a fine not exceeding ten
thousand dollars ($10,000), or both that imprisonment and fine.

(b) Cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains may be disposed of pursuant to Sections 7054.6,
7116, 7117, and 103060.

(c) Subdivision (a) of this section shall not apply to the reburial of Native American remains under an
agreement developed pursuant to subdivision (I) of Section 5097.94 of the Public Resources Code, or
implementation of a recommendation or agreement made pursuant to Section 5097.98 of the Public
Resources Code.

(d) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.

§ 7054.6 (a) Except as provided in subdivision (b), cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains may
be removed in a durable container from the place of cremation, hydrolysis, or interment and kept in or on
the real property owned or occupied by a person described in Section 7100 or any other person, with the
permission of the person with the right to disposition, or the durable container holding the cremated
remains or hydrolyzed human remains may be kept in a church or religious shrine, if written permission of
the church or religious shrine is obtained and there is no conflict with local use permit requirements or
zoning laws, if the removal is under the authority of a permit for disposition granted under Section
103060. The placement, in any place, of six or more cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains
under this section does not constitute the place a cemetery, as defined in Section 7003.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains may be
placed in one or more keepsake urns. Keepsake urns shall be kept as authorized by the person or
persons with the right to control disposition pursuant to Section 7100, provided that a permit for
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disposition of human remains pursuant to Section 103060 is issued by the local registrar for each
keepsake urn designating the home address of each person receiving a keepsake urn and a permit fee
pursuant to Section 103065 is paid. No keepsake urn shall be subject to Section 8345. For purposes of
this section, a keepsake urn shall mean a closed durable container that will accommodate an amount of
cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains not to exceed one cubic centimeter.

(c) Prior to disposition of cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains, every licensee or registrant
pursuant to Chapter 12 (commencing with Section 7600) of Division 3 of the Business and Professions
Code, and the agents and employees of the licensee or registrant shall do all of the following:

(1) Remove the cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains from the place of cremation or
hydrolysis in a durable container.

(2) Keep the cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains in a durable container.

(3) Store the cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains in a place free from exposure to the
elements.

(4) Responsibly maintain the cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains.

(d) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.

§ 7054.7. (a) Except with the express written permission of the person entitled to control the disposition of
the remains, no person shall:

(1) Cremate the remains of more than one person at the same time in the same cremation chamber, or
introduce the remains of a second person into a cremation chamber until incineration of any preceding
remains has been terminated and reasonable efforts have been employed to remove all fragments of the
preceding remains. The fact that there is residue in the cremation chamber or other equipment or any
container used in a prior cremation is not a violation of this section.

(2) Dispose of or scatter cremated remains in a manner or in a location that the remains are
commingled with those of another person. This paragraph shall not apply to the scattering of cremated
remains at sea from individual containers or to the disposal in a dedicated cemetery of accumulated
residue removed from a cremation chamber or other cremation equipment.

(3) Place cremated or uncremated remains of more than one person in the same container or the same
interment space. This paragraph shall not apply to the following:

(A) Interment of members of the same family in a common container designed for the cremated remains
of more than one person.

(B) Interment in a space or container that has been previously designated at the time of sale as being
intended for the interment of remains of more than one person.

(C) Disposal in a dedicated cemetery of residue removed from a cremation chamber or other cremation
equipment.

(b) Written acknowledgement from the person entitled to control the disposition of the cremated remains
shall be obtained by the person with whom arrangements are made for disposition of the remains on a
form that includes, but is not limited to, the following information: "The human body burns with the casket,
container, or other material in the cremation chamber. Some bone fragments are not combustible at the
incineration temperature and, as a result, remain in the cremation chamber. During the cremation, the
contents of the chamber may be moved to facilitate incineration. The chamber is composed of ceramic or
other material which disintegrates slightly during each cremation and the product of that disintegration is
commingled with the cremated remains. Nearly all of the contents of the cremation chamber, consisting of
the cremated remains, disintegrated chamber material, and small amounts of residue from previous
cremations, are removed together and crushed, pulverized, or ground to facilitate inurnment or scattering.
Some residue remains in the cracks and uneven places of the chamber. Periodically, the accumulation of
this residue is removed and interred in a dedicated cemetery property, or scattered at sea." The
acknowledgment shall be filed and retained, for at least five years, by the person who disposes of or
inters the remains.

(c) Any person, including any corporation or partnership, knowingly violating any provision of this
section is guilty of a misdemeanor.

§ 7054.8. (a) Except with the express written permission of the person entitled to control the disposition of
the remains, no person shall do any of the following:

(1) Hydrolyze the remains of more than one person at the same time in the same hydrolysis chamber,
or introduce the remains of a second person into a hydrolysis chamber until dissolution of any preceding
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remains has been terminated and reasonable efforts have been employed to remove all fragments of the
preceding remains. The fact that there is residue in the hydrolysis chamber or other equipment or any
container used in a prior hydrolysis is not a violation of this section.

(2) Dispose of or scatter hydrolyzed human remains in a manner or in such a location that the remains
are commingled with those of another person. This paragraph shall not apply to the scattering of
hydrolyzed human remains at sea from individual containers or to the disposal in a dedicated cemetery of
accumulated residue removed from processing equipment.

(3) Place hydrolyzed human remains or other remains of more than one person in the same container
or the same interment space. This paragraph shall not apply to the following:

(A) Interment of members of the same family in a common container designed for the hydrolyzed
human remains of more than one person.

(B) Interment in a space or container that has been previously designated at the time of sale as being
intended for the interment of remains of more than one person.

(C) Disposal in a dedicated cemetery of residue removed from processing equipment.

(b) Written acknowledgment from the person entitled to control the disposition of the hydrolyzed human
remains shall be obtained by the person with whom arrangements are made for disposition of the remains
on a form that includes, but is not limited to, the following information: “The human body is hydrolyzed
with organic protein-based material such as wool, silk, cotton, or other protein-based material in the
hydrolysis chamber. Bone fragments are not hydrolyzable and, as a result, remain in the chamber. The
hydrolyzed remains will be dried and crushed, pulverized, or ground to facilitate inurnment or scattering.”
The acknowledgment shall be filed and retained, for at least five years, by the person who disposes of or
inters the remains.

(c) A person, including any corporation or partnership, that violates any provision of this section is guilty
of a misdemeanor.

(d) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.

§ 7055. (a) Every person, who for himself or herself or for another person, inters, cremates, or hydrolyzes
a body or permits the same to be done, or removes any remains, other than cremated remains or
hydrolyzed human remains, from the primary registration district in which the death, cremation, or
hydrolysis occurred or the body was found, except a removal by a funeral director in a funeral director’s
conveyance or an officer of a duly accredited medical college engaged in official duties with respect to the
body of a decedent who has willfully donated his or her body to the medical college from that registration
district or county to another registration district or county, or within the same registration district or county,
without the authority of a burial or removal permit issued by the local registrar of the district in which the
death occurred or in which the body was found; or removes interred human remains from the cemetery in
which the interment occurred, removes cremated remains from the premises on which the cremation
occurred, or removes hydrolyzed human remains from the premises on which the hydrolysis occurred
without the authority of a removal permit is guilty of a misdemeanor and punishable as follows:

(1) For the first offense, by a fine of not less than ten dollars ($10) nor more than five hundred dollars
($500).

(2) For each subsequent offense, by a fine of not less than fifty dollars ($50) nor more than five hundred
dollars ($500) or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 60 days, or by both.

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision (a), a funeral director of a licensed out-of-state funeral establishment
may transport human remains out of this state without a removal permit when he or she is acting within
the requirements specified in subdivision (b) of Section 103050.

(c) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.

CHAPTER 3. Custody, and Duty of Interment................coiiiiiiii e 7100 - 7117.1

8§ 7116. (a) Cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains may be scattered in areas where no local
prohibition exists, provided that the cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains are not
distinguishable to the public, are not in a container, and that the person who has control over disposition
of the cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains has obtained written permission of the property
owner or governing agency to scatter on the property. A state or local agency may adopt an ordinance,
regulation, or policy, as appropriate, authorizing, consistent with this section, or specifically prohibiting,
the scattering of cremated human remains or hydrolyzed human remains on lands under the agency’s
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jurisdiction. The scattering of the cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains of more than one
person in one location pursuant to this section shall not create a cemetery pursuant to Section 7003 or
any other provision of law.

(b) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.

§ 7117. (a) Cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains may be taken by boat from any harbor in
this state, or by air, and scattered at sea. Cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains shall be
removed from their container before the remains are scattered at sea.

(b) Any person who scatters at sea, either from a boat or from the air, any cremated human remains or
hydrolyzed human remains shall file with the local registrar of births and deaths in the county nearest the
point where the remains were scattered, a verified statement containing the name of the deceased
person, the time and place of death, the place at which the cremated remains or hydrolyzed human
remains were scattered, and any other information that the local registrar of births and deaths may
require. The first copy of the endorsed permit shall be filed with the local registrar of births and deaths
within 10 days of disposition. The third copy shall be returned to the office of issuance.

(c) For purposes of this section, the phrase “at sea” includes the inland navigable waters of this state,
exclusive of lakes and streams, provided that no such scattering may take place within 500 yards of the
shoreline. This section does not allow the scattering of cremated human remains or hydrolyzed human
remains from a bridge or pier.

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of this code, the cremated remains or hydrolyzed human
remains of a deceased person may be scattered at sea as provided in this section and Section 103060.

(e) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.

§7117.1. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision (a) of Section 7117, cremated remains may be transferred from
a durable container into a scattering urn no more than seven days before scattering the cremated
remains at sea from a boat. For purposes of this section, "scattering urn" means a closed container
containing cremated remains that will dissolve and release its contents within four hours of being placed
at sea.

(b) This section shall not be construed to allow the use of a scattering urn when the cremated remains
are to be scattered by a plane over land or at sea.

Health and Safety Code, Division 102. Part 1 Vital Records and Health

Statistics....coiiiiiii 102100-103925
Part 1. Vital Records..........c.ccoiiiiiiiiiic e 102100-103800
CHAPTER 8. Permits for Disposition of Human Remains.............cccccoeveveee v envcvinnnnnnnn. 103050-103105

8103050. (a) A person shall not dispose of human remains unless both of the following have occurred:

(1) There has been obtained and filed with a local registrar a death certificate, as provided in Chapter 6
(commencing with Section 102775).

(2) There has been obtained from a local registrar a permit for disposition.

(b) (1) Notwithstanding subdivision (a), neither a death certificate nor a permit for disposition shall be
required to transport human remains from California to an adjacent state for disposition in that state when
all of the following circumstances exist:

(A) The remains are found within 50 miles of the California border and a licensed funeral establishment
in the adjacent state is within 30 miles of the county border in which the decedent died, and the remains
are released to that funeral establishment.

(B) The coroner with jurisdiction over the area in which the remains were found authorizes their release
pursuant to paragraph (2).

(2) The coroner may release the remains to a licensed out-of-state funeral establishment without a
death certificate or permit for disposition when he or she determines that all of the following conditions
exist:

(A) No forensic interest in the remains exists.

(B) A reasonable certainty exists that the cause of death will be provided either by the primary
physician, or by a review of medical records by the coroner or medical examiner.
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(3) The coroner with jurisdiction over the area in which the remains were found who releases the
remains to an out-of-state funeral establishment shall, within 72 hours after the remains were found, file a
death certificate with the local registrar.

(c) Nothing in this section shall exempt a coroner, health officer, health care provider, or other individual
from requirements to report a case or suspected case of any reportable communicable diseases or
conditions pursuant to any provision of the Health and Safety Code or the California Code of Regulations.

8103055. (a) If the certificate of death is properly executed and complete, the local registrar of births and
deaths shall issue a permit for disposition that, in all cases, shall specify any one of the following:

(1) The name of the cemetery where the remains shall be interred.

(2) Burial at sea as provided in Section 7117.

(3) The address or description of the place where remains shall be buried or scattered.

(4) The address of the location where the cremated remains or hydrolyzed human remains will be kept,
as provided in Section 7054.6, under the conditions the state registrar may approve, including, but not
limited to, conditions in keeping with public sensibilities, applicable laws, and reasonable assurances that
the disposition will be carried out in accordance with the prescribed conditions and will not constitute a
private or public nuisance.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this part relative to issuance of a permit for disposition,
whenever the death occurred from a disease declared by the state department to be infectious,
contagious, or communicable and dangerous to the public health, no permit for the disposition of the body
shall be issued by the local registrar, except under those conditions as may be prescribed by the state
department and local health officers.

(c) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.

8103060. (a) A permit for disposition for the purpose of removing cremated remains or hydrolyzed human
remains from the place of cremation, hydrolysis, or interment shall include a description of the final place
of disposition sufficient to identify the place and shall be issued by the local registrar to the person having
the right to control the disposition of the remains under Section 7100 upon the application of that person.

(b) A permit for disposition shall be issued under this section only upon the signed acknowledgment by
the person making application that trespass and nuisance laws apply to the disposition and that the
permit gives no right of unrestricted access to property not owned by the person for the purpose of
disposing of the remains.

(c) The person to whom the permit for disposition was issued shall sign the permit, endorse upon it the
date of final disposition and, within 10 days, return the first copy of the permit so endorsed to the local
registrar of the district in which the disposition took place. The third copy of the permit shall be returned to
the office of issuance. After one year, the local registrar may destroy any original or duplicate permit
retained by him or her pursuant to this section.

(d) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2020.
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