TITLE 16. CEMETERY AND FUNERAL BUREAU

Proposed Language

1. Amend Section 2310, of Division 23 of Title 16 of the California Code of
Regulations to read as follows:

§ 2310. Regulatory Charge.

(a) The annual regulatory charge to be paid by every cemetery authority operating a
cemetery under the Act is fixed at the sum of feurseven hundred and fifty doliars '
($400750). An additional quarterly charge of eighteleven dollars fifty cents ($811.50) for
each burial, entombment, or inurnment made during the preceding quarter shall be paid
to the Bureau. If the cemetery authority performs a burial, entombment, or inurnment,
and the cremation or hydrolysis was performed at a crematory or hydrolysis facility
located on the grounds of the cemetery and under common ownership with the
cemetery authority, the total of all additional charges shall be eight dollars and fifty cents
($8.50).

(b) The annual regulatory charge to be paid by every licensed crematory is fixed at
the sum of feurseven hundred and fifty dollars ($400750). An additional quarterly charge
of eighteleven dollars and fifty cents ($811.50) for each cremation made during the
preceding quarter shall be paid to the Bureau.

(c) The annual regulatory charge to be paid by every licensed hydrolysis facility is
fixed at the sum of nine hundred dollars ($900). An additional quarterly charge of
eighteleven dollars and fifty cents ($811.50) for each hydrolysis made during the
preceding quarter shall be paid to the bureau.

(1) Each hydrolysis facility shall submit to the bureau annual maintenance records of
the hydrolysis chamber for the preceding year with the annual renewal application. The
hydrolysis facility license shall not be renewed without proof of annual maintenance of
the hydrolysis chamber.

(2) Each hydrolysis facility that discharges hydrolysate to a sewer collection system
shall submit to the bureau the current Department of Public Health evaluation with the
annual renewal application pursuant to Business and Professions Code section
7639.08(e). The hydrolysis facility license shall not be renewed without proof of the
evaluation.

(d) The bureau shall not renew the license of any cemetery authority, crematory or
hydrolysis facility that has failed to pay the quarterly regulatory charge prescribed under
this section.
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NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7606, 7639.08 and 7712.5, Business and Professions
Code. Reference: Sections 7639.06, 7639.08, 7712.9, 7730.10 and 7730.11, Business
and Professions Code.

2. Amend Section 2311, of Division 23 of Titie 16 of the California Code of
Regulations to read as follows:

§ 2311. Filing Fee.

(@) An initial filing fee of feurseven hundred and fifty dollars ($409750) shall
accompany an original application for a certificate of authority to operate a cemetery. In
the event the expenses of the bureau's investigation, computed at the rate of ($100) per
day per person, shall exceed this amount, the applicant shall, within five (5) days after
request therefore, deposit such additional sums as deemed necessary by the bureau
provided that the total sum shall not exceed nine hundred dollars ($900).

(b) An initial filing fee of feurseven hundred and fifty dollars ($400750) shall
accompany an original application for a crematory license. In the event the expenses of
the bureau's investigation, computed at the rate of one hundred dollars ($100) per day
per person, shall exceed this amount, the applicant shall, within five (5) days after
request therefore, deposit such additional sums as deemed necessary by the bureau
provided that the total sum shall not exceed nine hundred dollars ($900).

(¢) An initial filing fee of nine hundred dollars ($900) shall accompany an original
application for a hydrolysis facility.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7606, 7653 and 7712.5, Business and Professions
Code. Reference: Sections 7653, 7712.5 and 7730.11 , Business and Professions Code.

3. Amend Sections 2326 of Division 23 of Title 16 of the California Code of
Regulations

§ 2326. Applications for Cemetery Certificate of Authority and Crematory License.

(a) Certificate of Authority. Applications for a certificate of authority to operate a
cemetery shall be filed on bureau form 23-COA (rev. 01/4623), Application for
Certificate of Authority, which is hereby incorporated by reference, at the principal office
of the bureau. In addition to the payment of the fees required by section 2311 of these
rules, each application shall be accompanied by the following:

[..]

Note: Authority cited: Sections 135.4, 7606 and 7712.5, Business and Professions
Code. Reference: Sections 135.4, 7613.4, 7613.5, 7652.8, 7652.10, 7653, 7712.2,
7712.4 and 7712.5, Business and Professions Code; and Section 8738.1, Health and
Safety Code.

\
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4. Amend Sections 2328.1 of Division 23 of Title 16 of the California Code of
Regulations

§ 2328.1. Cemetery Manager and Crematory Manager Application Form, Abandonment,
and Review Processing Time.

(a) An applicant for examination or licensure as a cemetery manager or crematory
manager shall complete an application, Form 21A3 (424101/23).

(b) If an applicant for examination or licensure as a cemetery manager or crematory
manager fails to take a required examination within twelve (12) months after being
notified of eligibility, or fails to apply for licensure within twelve (12) months of being
notified of passing the examination, the application or examination result shall be
considered to have been abandoned. An application subsequent to the abandonment of
a previous application or examination shall be considered a new application and must
be accompanied by the required fees.

(c) The procedure for considering applications for examination and issuance of
licenses under this section shall be as follows:

(1) The Bureau shall inform an applicant for examination or licensure as a cemetery
manager or crematory manager, in writing, within fourteen (14) days of receipt whether
the application is complete and acceptable for filing or is deficient and what specific
information is required to complete the application.

(2) The Bureau shall make a decision within sixty (60) days after the application is
deemed to be completed whether the applicant meets the requirements for licensure or
examination. “Completion of an application” means that the applicant has filed a
completed application form together with all required information, documentation, and
fee.

(3) The minimum, median and maximum processing times for an application for
examination or licensure as a cemetery manager or crematory manager from the date
of acceptance and filing of the initial application until the Bureau makes a final decision
on the application are:

(A) Minimum -- seven (7) days.
(B) Median -- thirty (30) days.
(C) Maximum -- sixty (60) days.

Authority cited: Section 96307606, Business and Professions Code. Reference:
Sections 142(b), 9702:57651.7, 9723.47653.7, and-9787.37713.1- and 7730.7,
Business and Professions Code. :

e
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5. Repeal Sections 2312, 2313, 2314, 2315, 2316, 2317, 2317.1, 2318, 2320, 2321,

2322, 2323, and 2324 of Division 23 of Title 16 of the Cahforma Code of
Regulations
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. STATE OF CALIFORNIA - STATE AND CONSUMER SERVICES AGENGY _ ARNGLD-SCHWARZENEGGER -overNpa

E3 #m

~ CEMETERY AND FUNERAL BUREAU
P-O-Box-880003
WEST SACRAMENTO-CA-85708-0003

1625 N, Market Bivd., S$208
Sacramento, CA 95834

(916) 574-7870 FAX (916} 928-7988

- CEMETERY OR CREMATORY MANAGER APPLICATION FOR:

EXAMINATION AND/OR LICENSURE
D Cemetery Manager Examination — $800.00 - D Cemetery Manager Lidense — $80.00
[] crematory Mdgager Examination - $450.00 [ crematory ManagefLicense - $80.00
SECTION A: APPL!CANT INFORM JION ‘ -/
Last Name: .- = 0 o First Name: / Middie; -
Residence Address; . T Number and Streb\ City ' / State Zip Code '
[Wialling Address: (it aiferent from above) \ Gty / State "Zip Code
Residence Telephone No: Daylime Telephone N 7é of Birth: Social Security Number:
["Are'you a California resident? / - Yo [ N T
Are you a high school graduate or do you-hold a high school equch certificate?... _ Yes D No u
An official copy of your high school transcript or equivalency certi must be sent directiy fothe Bureau, - '

Name of High School or Certifying Organization: / : Year Graduated/Compieted

Address of Hugh School or Certifying Organization: / \

SECTION B: EXAMINATION INFORMATION — To j/e completed by exammat?b(. applicants only

Yes D No' D

Have you previously taken the examination you arg applying for?

If yes, indicate previous test date(s)

SECTION C; LICENSE !NFORMAT!OV To be completed by license applicants only

Have you previously passed the examifiation Yol are applying for?

If yes, indicate the date you passeg

A copy of your result ietter must bé submitted with this application for verification.

" For Bureau Use Only

Date Cashiered- ~ ./ ATI No/SIDiDate: Examination Result.
Receipt Number: ' Application Approved: Ucense Number issued:
Amount Receiv;lx Examination Scheduled/ Date; Issuance Date!
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SECT}QN D: BACKGROUND INFORMATION — To be completed by all applicants
Have yoi\gver been issued a personal license by the Bureau?

If yes, providy ficense number(s) and issuance date(s).

Have you ever ben employed by or associated with a business licensed by the Bureau? . Yes D /6 D
/

If yes, prqvide licendg number(s) and association date(s).

Have you previously su itted fingerprint cards or a copy of a Request for Live Scan Service ‘

to the Bureau?

Yes No D

If yes, explain for what purpo

If you have previously submittedg copy of your Request for Live Scan Service to the Bureau, provide AT%ber and the date
fingerprinted. - ’ : : /

N\

Have you ever been convicted of, or pl
foreign country? . IR

, and the approximate date.

y state or local jurisdiction, or any
Yes [j No

no contest to, a violation of any law of the United States, 8

If yes, attach an explanation that includes thé\type of violation, the date, circumstances and lo tion, and the complete penalty received.
Also include copies of court documents, arres ecords. verification of restitution received by e court, and verification of successful

completion of probation.

nviction, including those which have been set

You must include al;fi misdemeanor and felony convisgions, regardless of the age of the
$500.00 or less need not be reported).

.| aside and/or dismissed under Penal Code Section 1080 or 1203.4 (Traffic violations
‘Have you ever had any professional or vocational licensg or registration denied, sugbended, revoked, placed on
«|‘probation or other disciplinary action taken by this or any &ther governmental authrity in this state or any other

:'; state, or any foreign country? Yes D No D

| K yes, attach an explanation that includes the license type, the'gction taken, By what state, and the date. Also include a copy of the
| administrative action, and if applicable, copies of court documents, arrest ‘cords, verification of restitution received by the court, and

| verification of successful completion of prqbation.
SECTION E: CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT
| 1 centify under penally of perjury under the laws of the State of Calif (nidthat all statements furnished in connection with this application
are true and accurate. : 4

Signature of Applicant:

Note: Allitems in this application are mandatory; none are vgiuntary. Faiture to provide any of the Yequested information will result in the application being
considered Incomplete (incomplete appiications are subjegf 1o abandonment one year from the datehe applicant is notified of deficiencies). Al information
provided will be used to determine qualification for licengdre, per the Business and Professions Code Yaat authorizes the collection of this information. Per
Caiifornia Civil Code Section 1798.17 {information Pragtice Act), the Chief of the Cemetery and FuneraNgureau is responsible for maintaining information in
this application. This information may be transferreg/Ao other governmental and enforcement agencies. | dividuals have the right to review the records
maintained on them by the agencies, unless the regords are exempt by Section 1798.40 of the Civil Code. Reguests for information may be addressed to -
the custodian of recards; Bureau Chief, Cemetegf and Funeral Bureau, 1625 N. Market Bivd., Ste 5208, Sacgmento, CA 95834, (916) 574-7870.

Section 30 of the Business and Professions Qbde and Public Law 94455 (42 U.5.C.A. 405 (c){2)(c)) authorizes We coflection of your Soclal Securily
Number (S8SN). The disclosure of your SSiYis mandatory. The information will be usad exclusively for tax enforcegent purposes and for purposes of
compliance with Section 11350.8 of the difare and Institutions Code. f you fail to disclose your SSN, you will be réported to the Franchise Tax Board,
which may assess a $100.00 penalty agéinst you. Questions regarding this requirement must be directed to the Frandhise Tax Board: So. California (800)

852-7050, No. California (800) 852-5741, or Sacramento at (31 6) 369-0500.

Effective July 12012, the State Bdbrd of Equalization and the Franchise Tex Board may share taxpaver information with the Bureau. You are obligated fo
pay your state tax obligalion andAour license may be suspended if the state ax chligation is not paid per Business 8 fOgSI ode Section 31(e).

21A3 (4603 12/11) Cemetery and Funeral Bureau —~ www.cfb.ca.gov F‘Ege 20f4




u
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| . CEMETERY AND FUNERAL BUREAU
N\ cimen © ' SACRAMENTO-CA 095814

Consumer el 1625 N. Market Blvd., 5208
‘ N : . ' Sacramento, CA_ 95834

e e e oS T oty
{916) 674-7870 FAX (916) 928-7988

' INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR: : :
CEMETERY AND CREMATORY MANAGER APPLICATION FOR/
EXAMINATION AND/OR LICENSURE :

The attached application must be completed to apply for examination and/or licensure as a ce ,,etéry manager or crematory

Legislation enacted in 2002 (SB 1952\ Stats, 2602, ch. 825 & SB 17, Stats. 2002, ch, 818 requires cemelery and crematory
managers {o obtain a license in order 10\act as the responsible manager of a cerlificate »fauthority (cemetery), or a crematory.

Any person-who has been examined and qiglified by the Bureau fo act as a cemetgfy ﬁnanager or-crematory manager prior to
January 1, 2003, may, until July 1, 2004, apply, for licensure with the Cemetery ap, Funeral Bureau (Bureau) without being

reexamined,

PLEASE NOTE: After July 1, 2004, all appﬁcénis Qust apply for and pass # e‘r'exa'mination to obtain a cemetery manager or
crematqry.{qanaggr.iipense..L RS S R R R S e

© For more information on the requirements to be designatd as a cemg ery manager or crematory manager, please referio the
application “Report Designation or Change of Cemetery or'Grematg Manager; or Request Approval io Share a Cemetery

" Manager", available on our web site at www.cfb.ca.gov, or b\xcon dcting the Bureau’s Licensing Unit at (916) 3273210 574
7870, - e e D Y S e T

CEMETERY MANAGER APPLICANTS:
e An applicant for a cemetery manager license shall b€ at least 18 years of age, possess & high school diploma orits
_equivalent, shall not have co

- Professions Code (BPC) Section 480, shall densnstrate compliance With any training and experience requirements
established by the Bureau, and shall be a resident of this state (BPC § 480 and §9723.1(b)). o

e A cemelery manager is a person engageg Inor conducting, or hoiding himse¥ or herself out as engaged in those activities

involved in, or incidental to, the maintaiping, operating, or improving a licensed\cemetery, the interring of human remains,
and the care, praservation, and embejfshment of cemetery property (BPC § 96051). :

»  No person shall engage in or congfict, or hold himself or herself out as engaging in oxconducting, the activities of a
cemetery manager without hold g a valid, unexpired cemetery manager ficense issued by the Bureau (BPC § 8723.2(2)).

e No licensed cemetery manager shall engage in or conduct, or hold himself or herself out a% engaging in or conducting, the
activities of a cemetery mgfiager without being emploved by or without being a corporate officer of a licensed cemetery.
You may submit your apdlication to be examined and/or licensed as a cemetery manager, however, you must be an
employee or corporatedfiicer of a licensed cemetery in order to be designated as the cemetery manager (BPC §

9723.2(b)).

e Cemetery manag€rs must submit a written statement demonsirating two years’ cemetery experience prior o being
designated as A cemetery manager. Please be advised that issuance of a cemetery manager license ddes not satisfy this
requirement gnd this information will be required with the application “Report Designation or Change of Cémetery or
Crematory XManager; or Request Approval to Share a Cemetery Manager” (Title 18, California Code of Regiations {CCR)

§ 2326.1)
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CREMATORY MANAGER APPLICANTS:

. A applicant for a crematory manager license shall be at least 18 years of age, possess a high schoot diploma or ity
so\ivalent, shall not have committed acts or crimes constituting grounds for denial of licensure under BPG Sectiopf 480,
shal\demonstrate compliance with any training and experience requirements established by the Bureau, and shéll be a

residext of this state (BPC § 9787.3(b)).

« A crematOgy manager is a person engaged in or conducting or holding himself or herseif out as engaged jf those activities
involved in, X incidental fo, the maintaining, or operating a licensed crematory, and the cremation of huffian remains (BPC

- §9605.2).

s No person shall ehgage In or conduct, or hold himself or herself out as engaging in or conducting,Ahe activities of a
crematory manager ithout holding a valid, unexpired crematory manager license issued by theBureau (BPC §

9787.4(a)).

»  No licensed crematory magager shall engage in or condugct, or hold himself or herself out # engaging in or conducting,
the activities of a crematorl\nanager without being emploved by. or without being a solefbroprietor, partner, or corporate
officer of. a licensed crematoly. You may submit your application to be examined andr licensed as a crematory
manager, however, you must bR an employee, sole proprietor, partner, or corporate gfficer of a crematory in order to be
designated as the crematory mangger (BPC § 0878.4(b)). L & Co o : '

LIVE SCA&[FINQER’PRIMNT INFQRMATI QN — All app licants

BPC § 144(b) authorizes the Bureau to collecNingerprints to conduct backgroysd checks of applicants for licensure. For more

information regarding Live Scan visit the Bureadg web site at www.cfb.ca.goy’.

The foliowing aniication checklist has been provideq to assist you with c@mpleting this application. Direct all questions
regarding this application to the Cemetery and Funer3{ Bureau, Licensipg Unit, at (916) 327-3249 574-7870. o

=y

- APPLICA ‘ HECKLIST

D Have you completed each item on pages 1 and 2 of yolr app ation?

D Have you signed the application?

D Have you included the appropriate processingfee(s)?

Applicants applying to take the licensing examiration inay choose to submit the licensing fee at the same time-as the
examination fee, or wait until their examinatigh results have been received to pay the $80.00 licensing fee. Ifthe licensing fee
is submitted at the same time as the examjriation fee and you pass the examinatisp, a ficense numper can be issued and

given to you along with your examinationfesults.
D Have you submitted the original, Application? Photocopies are not accepted.
D Have you requested an offigial high school transcript or high school equivalency certifigate be sent directly to the Bureau?

All applicants who have not previously submitted fingerprints to the Cemetery and Funeral Burﬁ must submit one of the
following:

D Have you includedgour compieted Request for Live Scan Service?

D Have you inclyded a completed set (2) of fingerprints with a $56.00 processing fee?

Mail your compiéted application with the appropriate processing fee to the Cemetery and Funeral Bureau:

- RBGULAR MAIL: P.0. Box 989003, West Sacramento, CA

95798-8003
_PRIORITY MAIL: 080-Sacrarm A-86814

625 N. Market Blvd, Ste S208, Sacramento, CA_ 95834
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CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENGY - GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR
- 7 cumsu MER CEMETERY AND FUNERAL BUREAU
1625 N. Market Bivd,, Suite S-208, Sacramento, CA 95834

AFFAILIR f (916) 574-7870 | emailcfb@dca.ca.gov | www.cfb.ca.gov

CEMETERY OR CREMATORY MANAGER APPLICATION FOR
EXAMINATION AND/OR LICENSURE

D Cemetery Manager Examination Fee $800 [:I Cemetery Manager License Fee $130
D Crematory Manager Examination Fee $680 D Crematory Manager License Fee $130

SECTION A: APPLICANT INFORMATION

, M;‘d‘d;é’ .

Last Name First‘Name

Residence Address Number and Street City State Zip Code

Mailing Address (If different from above) City . State Zip Code

Residence Telephone No Daytime Telephone No ' Date of Birth | Social Security Number
Are you a California resident? | | Yes Dk No [
Are you a high school graduate ordo you hold a high school equivalency certificate? Yes[]  Noll

An official copy of your high school transcript or equivalency certificate must be sent directly to the Bureau.
Name of High School or Certifying Organization Year Graduated/Completed

Address of High School or Certifying Organization

SECTION B: EXAMINATION INFORMATION - To be completed by examination applicants only

Have you previously taken the examination you are applying for? Yes[ ] No[J
If yes, indicate previous test date(s)

SECTION C: LICENSE INFORMATION - To be completed by license applicants only =

Have you previously passed the examination you are applying for? Yes[J No

If yes, indicate the date you passed
A copy of your result letter must be submitted with this application for verification.

For Bureau Use Only
Date Cashiered: ATl No./SID/Date: Examination Resujt:
Receipt Number: Application Approved: License Number Issued:
Amount Received: Examination Scheduled/Date: Issuance Date:
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SECTION D: BACKGROUND INFORMATION — To be completed by all applicants

Have you ever been issued a personal license by the Bureau? Yes [ No [

If yes, provide license number(s) and issuance date(s).

Have you ever been employed by or associated with a business licensed by the Bureau? Yes [ No L]

If yes, provide license number(s) and association date(s).

Have you previously submitted fingerprint cards or a copy of a Request for Live Scan Service Yes L No [
to the Bureau?

If yes, explain for what purpose, and the approximate date.

If you have previously submitted a copy of your Request for Live Scan Service to the Bureau, provide ATI Number and the date
fingerprinted.

Have you ever been convicted of, or pled no contest to, a violation of any law of the United States, any state or local jurisdiction, or
any foreign country? Yes ] No

If yes, attach an explanation that includes the type of violation, the date, circumstances and location, and the complete penalty
received. Also include copies of court documents, arrest records, verification of restitution received by the court, and verification of

successful completion of probation.

You must include all misdemeanor and felony convictions, regardless of the age of the conviction, including those which have
been set aside and/or dismissed under Penal Code Section 1000 or 1203.4 (Traffic violations of $500.00 or less need not be

reported).

Have you ever had any professional or vocational license or registration denied, suspended, revoked, placed on
probation or other disciplinary action taken by this or any other governmental authority in this state or any
other state, or any foreign country?

Yes [ No [

If yes, attach an explanation that includes the license type, the action taken, by what state, and the date. Also include a copy of
the administrative action, and if applicable, copies of court documents, arrest records, verification of restitution received by the
court, and verification of successful completion of probation.
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SECTION E: CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that all statements furnished in
connection with this application are true and accurate.

Signature of Applicant Date

Note: All items in this application are mandatory: none are voluntary. Failure to provide any of the requested information will result in the -
application being considered incomplete (incomplete applications are subject to abandonment one year from the date the applicant is notified
of deficiercies). All information provided will be used to determine qualification for licensure, per the Business and Professions Code that
authorizes the collection of this information. Per California Civil Code Section 1798.17 (Information Practice Act), the Chief of the Cemetery
and Funeral Bureau is responsible for maintaining information in this application. This information may be transferred to other govemmental

Section 30 of the Business and Professions Code and Public Law 94-455 (42 U.S.C.A. 405 (c)(2)(c)) authorizes the collection of your Social
Security Number (SSN). The disclosure of your SSN is mandatory. The information will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes and
for purposes of compliance with Section 11350.6 of the Welfare and Institutions Code. If you fail to disclose your SSN, you will be reported to
the Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a $100.00 penalty against you. Questions regarding this requirement must be directed to the
Franchise Tax Board: So. California {800) 852-7050, No. California (800) 852-5711, or Sacramento at (916) 369-0500.

Effective July 1, 2012, the State Board of Equalization and the Franchise Tax Board may share taxpayer information with the Bureau. You are

obligated to pay your state tax obligation and your license may be suspended If the state tax obligation is not paid per Business and
Professions Code Section 31(e). ’
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CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY - GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR
ok c n N s u M E R CEMETERY AND FUNERAL BUREAU
1625 N. Market Bivd., Suite $-208, Sacramento, CA 95834

AFFAILIR f (916) 574-7870 | emailcfo@dca.ca.gov | www.cfb.ca.gov

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR:
CEMETERY AND CREMATORY MANAGER APPLICATION FOR
EXAMINATION AND/OR LICENSURE

The attached application must be completed to apply for examination and/or licensure as a cemetery manager or crematory
manager.

Legislation enacted in 2002 (SB 1952, Stats. 2022, ch. 825 & SB 17, Stats. 2002, ch 819) requires cemetery and crematory
managers to obtain a license in order to act as the responsible manager of a certificate of authority (cemetery), or a
crematory.

Any person who has been examined and qualified by the Bureau to act as a cemetery manager or crematory manager prior to
January 1, 2023, may, until July 1, 2004, apply for licensure with the Cemetery and Funeral Bureau (Bureau) without being
reexamined.

PLEASE NOTE: After July 1, 2004, all applicants must apply for and pass the examination to obtain a cemetery manager or
crematory manager license.

For more information on the requirements to be designated as a cemetery manager or crematory manager, please refer to the
application “Report Designation or Change of Cemetery or Crematory Manager; or Request Approval to Share a Cemetery
Manager”, available on our website at www.cfb.ca.gov, or by contacting the Bureau's Licensing Unit at (916) 574-7870.

CEMETERY MANAGER APPLICANTS:

e An applicant for a cemetery manager license shall be at least 18 years of age, possess a high school diploma or its
equivalent, shall not have committed acts or crimes constituting grounds for denial of licensure under Business and
Professions Code (BPC) Section 480, shall demonstrate compliance with any training and experience requirements
established by the Bureau, and shall be a resident of this state (BEC § 480 and §9723.1(b)).

e A cemetery manager is a person engaged in or conducting, or holding himself or herself out as engaged in those activities
involved in, or incidental to, the maintaining, operating, or improving a licensed cemetery, the interring of human remains,
and the care, preservation, and embellishment of cemetery property (BPC § 9605.1 ).

e No person shall engage in or conduct, or hold himself or herself out as engaging in or conducting, the activities of a
cemetery manager without holding a valid, unexpired cemetery manager license issued by the Bureau (BPC §9723.2(a)).

e No licensed cemetery manager shall engage in or conduct, or hold himself or herself out as engaging in or conducting, the
activities or a cemetery manager without being employed by, or without being a corporate officer of a licensed cemetery.
You may submit your application to be examined and/or licensed as a cemetery manager, however, you must be an
employee or corporate officer of a licensed cemetery in order to be designated as the cemetery manager (BPC §
9723.2(b)).

e Cemetery manager must submit a written statement demonstrating two years’ cemetery experience prior to being
designated as a cemetery manager. Please be advised that issuance of a cemetery manager license does not satisfy this
requirement and this information will be required with the application “Report Designation or Change of Cemetery or
Crematory Manger; or Request Approval to Share a Cemetery Manager” (Title 16, California Code of Regulations (CCR)

§ 2326.1.)

WA
per agency
request

qfﬁw
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CREMATORY MANAGER APPLICANTS:

 An applicant for a crematory manager license shall be at least 18 years of age, possess a high school diploma or its
equivalent, shall not have committed acts or crimes constituting grounds for denial of licensure under BPC Section 480,
shall demonstrate compliance with any training and experience requirements established by the Bureau, and shall be a
resident of this state (BPC § 9787.3(b)).

e A crematory manager is a person engaged in or conducting or holding himself or herself out as engaged in those
activities involved in, or incidental to, the maintaining, or operating a licensed crematory, and the cremation of human
remains (BPC § 9605.2).

¢ No person shall engage in or conduct, or hold himself or herself out as engaging in or conducting, the activities of a
crematory manager without holding a valid, unexpired crematory manager license issued by the Bureau (BPC §
9787.4(a)). :

» No Iicensdcrematory manager shall engage in or conduct, or hold himself or herself out as engaging in or conducting,
the activities of a crematory manager without being employed by, or without being a sole proprietor, partner, or corporate
officer of, a licensed crematory. You may submit your application to be examined and/or licensed as a crematory
manager, however, you must be an employee, sole proprietor, partner, or corporate officer of a crematory in order to be
designated as the crematory manager (BPC § 9878.4(b)). *

LIVE SCAN/FINGERPRINT INFORMATION — All Applicants

BPC § 144(b) authorizes the Bureau to collect fingerprints to conduct background checks of applicants for licensure. For
more information regarding Live Scan visit the Bureau’s web site at www.cfb.ca.gov.

The following application checklist has been provided to assist you with completing this application. Direct all questions
regarding this application to the Cemetery and Funeral Bureau, Licensing Unit, at (916) 547-7870. ‘

APPLICATION CHECKLIST

[] Have you completed each item on pages 1 and 2 of your application?

L] Have you signed the application?

] Have you included the appropriate processing fee(s)?

Applicants applying to take the licensing examination may choose to submit the licensing fee at the same time as the
examination fee, or wait until their examination results have been received to pay the $130.00 licensing fee. If the licensing
fee is submitted at the same time as the examination fee and you pass the examination, a license number can be issued
and given to you along with your examination results. '

[J Have you submitted the original application? Photocopies are not accepted.

[J Have you requested an official high school transcript or high school equivalency certificate be sent directly to the Bureau?

All applicants who have not previously submitted fingerprints to the Cemetery and Funeral Bureau must submit one of the following:
[J Have you included your completed Request for Live Scan Service?

[ Have you included a completed set (2) of fingerprints with a $56.00 processing fee?

Mail your completed application with the appropriate processing fee to the Cemetery and Funeral Bureau:

REGULAR MAIL: P.O. Box 989003, West Sacramento, CA 95798-9003

PRIORITY MAIL: 1625 N. Market Blvd, Suite $-208, Sacramento, CA 95834 per ‘gg‘g‘m
request
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DEPARTMENY DF CONBUMER AFFAIRS @ -

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY ADOPT
Application Fee $400750 ~¢-6~

COA NUMBER ISSUED

SECTION A: CEMETERY INFORMATION

NAME OF CEMETERY LICENSE NUMBER (if applicable)

, COA
NEW NAME OF CEMETERY (if different than above) FEIN NUMBER
ADDRESS OF CEMETERY ' CITy ) STATE ZiP CODE

CA

MAILING ADDRESS (if applicable) CITty STATE ZIP CODE
PHONE NUMBER FAX NUMBER
( ) ( )
DATE OF SALE (if applicable) EMAIL ADDRESS (not required)

SECTION B: NAME OF APPLIVCA'N‘T (Attach Corﬁorate Resolution or Operating Agreement delegating authority to applicant)

LAST NAME FIRST NAME | PHONE NUMBER (if different than above)
( ) ‘

SECTION C: NAME OF DESIGNATED CEMETERY MANAGER

LAST NAME FIRST NAME k LICENSE NUMBER EXP!RATION DATE

CEM
APPROVAL TO SHARE CEMETERY MANAGER (if applicable, must be under common ownership and within 60 miles of main office)
Designated cemetery manager is also managing the :
following licensed cemeteries: COA COA COA COA COA
NAME OF CEMETERY DESIGNATED AS THE MAIN OFF ICE (if applicable) LICENSE NUMBER (if applicable)
COA
ADDRESS OF CEMETERY CITY STATE ZIP CODE
CA

SECTION D: CORPORATION / LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY

NAME OF CORPORATION OR LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY (as listed on the Articles of Incorporation or Atticles of Organization)

ADDRESS OF PRINCIPAL OFFICE ciIry STATE ZIP CODE

INCORPORATED IN STATE OF (for Corporation) DATE INCORPORATED (for Corporation)

STATE OR PLACE OF ORGANIZATION (for Limited Liability Company) SECRETARY OF STATE FILE NUMBER (for Limited Liability Company)

- FORBUREAU USEONLY

DATE CASHIERED AMOUNT CASHIERED ' ATS 10 NUMBER RECEIPT NUMBER DATE COMPLETED

23-COA (rev. 44601/23) Page 1 of 2



SECTION E: CORPORATE OFFICERS / LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY MEMBERS

(List all corporate officers and fimited liability company members. Attach additional pages if needed.)

TITLE LAST NAME FIRST NAME MIDDLE INITIAL

ALL CORPORATE OFFICERS AND LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY MEMBERS ARE REQUIRED TO SUBMIT A CERTIFICATION AFFIDAVIT

SECTION F: TRUSTEES : :
(List all trustees, only one trustee can pe an officer or employee of the corporation. Attached additional pages if needed.)
TITLE LAST NAME FIRST NAME MIDDLE INITIAL

ALL TRUSTEES ARE REQUIRED TO SUBMIT A CERTIFICATION AFFIDAVIT

SECTION G: CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT:

I certify under penalty of perjury, under the laws of the State of California, that all information provided on this form is true
and correct. o

SIGNATURE DATE

PRINT NAME TITLE

Note: The information solicited on this form is required pursuant to Business and Professions Code sections 7651.5 and 7652.8. All items on this form are mandatory; none are
voluntary, unless indicated. Failure to provide any of the requested information will result in the application being considered incomplete (incomplete applications are subject to
abandonment one year from the date the applicant is notified of deficiencies). All information provided will be used to determine qualification for licensure, per the Business and
Professions Code that authorizes the collection of this information. Per California Civil Code section 1798.17 (Information Practice Act), the Bureau Chief of the Cemetery and
Funeral Bureau is responsible for maintaining informaticn on this form. This information may be transferred to other governmental and enforcement agencies. Individuals have
the right to review the records maintained on them by the agencies, unless the records are exempt by section 1798.40 of the Civil Code. Requests for information may be
addressed to the custodian of records: Bureau Chief, Cemetery and Funeral Bureau, 1625 North Market Bivd., Suite §-208, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 574-7870.

Effective July 1, 2012, the State Board of Equalization and the Eranchise Tax Board may share taxpayer information with the Bureau. You are obligated to pay your state tax
obligation and your license may be suspended if the state tax obligation is not paid per Business and Professions Code section 31(e).
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